The Bickford Arms was originally part of the Dunsland Estate, which was an extensive holding that once stretched across large parts of North Devon.
The building itself dates back to the 17th century where it was known as the Chaing Inn.
The estate was gradually broken up and passed through the hands of several major court and political families, including the Cadiho, Arscott, Dabernon, and Bickford families. These, and two other minor families, are commemorated in both the names of our bedrooms and the pub itself.
(Left) A sketch showing the pub with the addition of bow windows to the front.
(Right) The Bickford Arms at Brandis Corner around 1900.
Photographs; Past and Present
Our selection of photographs and drawings showcase the pub between the 19th century and the present day. The woods shown in the photograph from the 1900s are still there. The bow windows to the front had been added by the 1920s. The photo from the 1980s shows the pub before an attempt at ‘thatched restoration’ and was one of the photographs that provided a template for rebuilding the pub after the fire in 2003.